Avocado Pesto Zoodles

Finals week and study abroad in Ireland has left me out of the kitchen and posting for a while but boy, is it good to be back! Get ready for lots of recipes coming your way because although it was a nice break to cooking, I am ready to get back on track and cooking in my own kitchen! Zucchini and squash plants are finally coming up in our garden so for the first day of my long needed week cleanse, I decided to whip up some zoodles. If you don’t have a spiralizer yet, you NEED one!! I have the Paderno spiralizer but the NimNik one works just as good! I use mine all the time to make zucchini noodles and whatever else I can get my hands on!

IMG_7972

IMG_7974

IMG_7975

Processed with VSCO with kk2 preset

Processed with VSCO with kk2 preset

Pesto Recipe:

  • 1/2 cup shelled edamame, thawed
  • 1 cup kale, rinsed
  • 1/2 cup fresh basil
  • 1 tablespoon EVOO
  • 3 tablespoons water
  • 1 teaspoon salt-free Italian seasoning
  • 1 clove garlic
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • 1/2 avocado
  • 1 jalapeno (optional)

Combine all ingredients in a food processor and set aside. I tripled this recipe and froze the rest in an ice cube tray for later use!

 

Zoodle recipe:

  • 1 large zucchini, rinsed
  • 1 large squash, rinsed

Spiralize vegetables and heat in a saucepan on medium heat for 1-2 minutes enough to slightly soften (literally 1 minute or the zoodles will get soggy and soft). In a bowl combine this with the pesto sauce and enjoy! I sprinkled mine with red pepper flakes (optional)!

 

Leave a Reply

