Almond Milk DIY

I used to love almond milk until I found out that many of the store brands contain actually very few almond (about 2%)! I finally got around to actually making my own and it is so much better than the store bought milk and it actually wasn’t that hard either! I found a 12 oz bag of raw almonds at Aldi for around $7 and a cheesecloth at Walmart for about $4. I don’t like my almond milk sweet but feel free to add cinnamon, dates or any extras to experiment! I made almond flour with the leftover almonds too!

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

 

Recipe:

  • 1 C. raw almonds
  • 3 1/2 C filtered water
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 Tbsp. honey
  • Cheesecloth

Directions:

In a cup or jar, add almonds, cover with water and let sit in the fridge overnight so the almonds can get soft.

Once almonds have soaked overnight, drain water and place almonds in a food processor with 3 1/2 cups of filtered water, vanilla and honey. Pulse for about 10-15 minutes or until it turns to liquid and there are no chunks of almonds. Over a jar, place a cheesecloth over a strainer and pour almond milk slowly to strain out the almond meal. Every once in a while squeeze the cheesecloth to get any access milk out of the almond meal. Once done you can store in the refrigerator for 3-4 days.

I made almond flour with my leftover almond meal so I didn’t waste it. To do this, spread out almond meal on a baking sheet and bake on 150-200 in the oven for an hour then blend to create a fine almond texture. Store in the fridge in an  airtight container.

___________

Follow me on instagram @_mysouthernroots

2 thoughts on “Almond Milk DIY

Leave a Reply

